Fiscal Cliff: How Illinois Legislators Voted

Four Republicans voted against the Senate bill.

With the clock ticking, Congress voted 257-167 to pass a Senate bill to stop the country from going over the so-called "fiscal cliff."

On Tuesday, members of the House of Representatives from Illinois voted 14-4 in favor of the bill.

For Republican Judy Biggert, who was defeated in November by Bill Foster, her vote in favor of the bill was her last as a member of the House of Representatives.

Adam Kinzinger, R-Manteno, joined Biggert in voting yes, along with Dan Lipinski, D-Western Springs.

Four House Republicans from Illinois voted no: Randy Hultgren (Winfield), Peter Roskam (Wheaton), Bobby Schilling (Colona) and Joe Walsh (McHenry).

In the Senate, Dick Durbin, D-Springfield, voted to pass the measure. Mark Kirk, R-Highland Park, did not vote — he returned to the Senate on Thursday, a year after suffering a stroke.

Click here to read the full list of Illinois legislators' votes. For the entire roll call, click here.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - -

There are plenty of ways to keep up on Downers Grove news:


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »